•  State Meet will be April 21-23, 2017 at Saginaw Valley State University (SCY)

    It was tough decision this year because of  Easter, Palm Sunday, Michigan Schools Winter Break, USMS Spring Nationals, and Pool Availability… so the meet host (Saginaw YMCA Sharks & Saginaw Valley State University Masters), picked the date they thought would be the best option for them.


  • Doug Handler is Awarded the 2016 Dorothy Donnelly Service Award

    USMS is Honored to Award Doug Handler
    the 2016 Dorothy Donnelly Service Award.

    Members of U.S. Masters Swimming don’t confine their participation to the pool. There are many volunteer opportunities for their talent, expertise, and generosity. USMS recognizes the commitment of those who give back with the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award, named to honor one of USMS’s outstanding volunteers. The award recognizes those whose contributions stand out in service to local, regional, and national programs. Up to 15 people are selected each year and nominations come from Local Masters Swimming Committees, clubs, and individuals.

    In just six months after being elected as the Michigan LMSC Registrar, Doug Handler not only had to learn the complex USMS Registration process for Masters swim clubs and workout groups, but also how to build the state Meet team registration database. This was needed to track LMSC swimmers locally while interfacing with the USMS database. This example demonstrates the detailed expertise Doug devotes to his USMS volunteer efforts.

    Doug has worked on improving all facets of the registrar’s responsibilities to assure LMSC conformance with USMS procedures, and has implemented a process to capture years of registration for upkeep of the local Continuous Loyalty Membership Award program. He works with swim meet directors to assist in running more efficient meets, and with the local treasurer for processing information for the USMS National Office. Doug is now a member of the national USMS Registration Committee and has been appointed one of only two Registration Mentors to help train other new registrars throughout the country. Doug also serves on the Michigan LMSC Board of Directors.

  • The Michigan Masters Scholarship Award for 2016 was awarded to Sloane Lynch.
  • 2016 USMS Summer Long Course National Championships


Michigan Masters takes 8th Place in the Regional Club Division


Pictured – From left to right: Tamara Steil, Denise Brown, Colby Haan, Dennis Toth, and Tom Phillips.

The 2016 USMS Summer Long Course National Championships took place from August 17 to August 21, 2016 at the Mt. Hood Aquatic Center in Gresham, Oregon. 1287 swimmers entered the meet from 196 Clubs. 43 World Records and 72 USMS Records were set during the course of the meet.

Michigan Masters placed 8th in the Regional Club division with 226 points with 7 swimmers who attended the meet. The Men’s team placed 5th with 168 points with 5 swimmers attending and the Women’s team placed 11th with 58 points with 2 swimmers attending. 6 Michigan LMSC State Records were set by Michigan Masters swimmers during the course of the meet.

Kevin Doak won 4 out of 5 events in the 35-39 age group for another outstanding meet to go along with the 2016 Spring Short Course Nationals where he won 5 out of 6 events entered for a total of 9 USMS National Championships for the year. He set 2 Michigan LMSC State Records in the 50 and 100 meter Back.

Three second place finishes were secured by Christian Vanderkaay in the 50 Breast, 100 Breast, and 200 IM. The 50 Breast and 200 IM were new LMSC State Records. Colby Haan, swimming in his first USMS Nationals placed second in the 50, 100, and 200 Breast events in the 18-24 age group. Tom Phillips placed second in the 50 Free and broke the LMSC State Record for his first one in the 40-44 age group. Denise Brown broke her own 400 IM record dropping almost 3 seconds from her previous record.

Kevin Doak was the Michigan Masters Men’s High Point winner with 53 points and Tamara Steil was the Michigan Masters Women’s High Point winner with 31 Points. Results, Records, and Placings are included in the Exhibits. Congratulations to all 7 swimmers who attended the meet.

Overall – Meet Results

Age Group – Results

MI Masters Swimmers Results with Splits and Scores

MI Masters Swimmers Results – Records



USMS_Logo_tm_200x1452016 USMS Registration is Open

Are You a Member of USMS? Do You Need to Renew Your USMS Membership? Please visit the USMS website  to register or renew, and designate your CLUB as Michigan Masters (MICH).  You do not register for a STATE MEET TEAM on the USMS site. To select your State Meet Team (click here).  For detailed information, please visit the MI Masters Registation page.


Michigan Masters Scholarship:

For informato about the Michigan Masters Scholarship – Click Here.